NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

1999-12-24 - 00:44:28

Tangential. Yup.

So before I went off on my little rant about geeks/nerds, please, don't take offense, remember, I'm a wannabe.

The design: My first experience with cyberspace looked just like this. Uh, that is except for the browser around it all. I stared for hours into a black screen with green lettering on it. 16MHz 286/1MB RAM 40MB HD Hercules graphics card & 1400bps modem. MS DOS 5.

Frankly, I miss it. Imagine Diaryland as a BBS.

The name: it's a place in a William Gibson's novel "Mona Lisa Overdrive" Most importantly, it's a place. It's a mood. I guess you'd have to read the novel to understand.

Man, I loved Slick Henry. Poor bastard.

But let's get one thing straight: I ain't no Mondo2000- reading, white-guy-with-dreadlocks-looking, virtual-reality-goin'-to-the-rave-to-take-smart-drugs, neo-cyber-hippy.

Like I said, frankly I miss the green on black CLI.

Entry naming convention: Yeah, eventually I'll give up the digits. That is, if the Y2K thing doesn't kill us all. Snort.

Y'know, that bugs me. No pun intended. Y2K is vastly over-hyped. I'm sick of it. The university where I work has been working to overcome the Y2K bug since 1983 - I heard that somewhere. What a buncha hooha. A lotta panic-peddlers tryin' to get rich is what it is. Bastards!

Oh yeah, and any company that advertises about their "millenium" anything should be cut right out of your vendor list. The "Millenium" doesn't start for another year. You know that, I know that, the marketing clowns and the advertising people know that too. But they still try fool the trailer park crowd into getting all excited about the "millenium" and going out to buy something because of the "once a millenium" price/offer/deal/decal/tissue cozy/whatever.

Pathetic.

Makes me wanna start a letter writing campaign. (Oh god! I've turned into my Dad!)

Do you think they take e-mail as seriously?

ttfn

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next