NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

1999-12-31 - 11:10:22

My Linux box is back up. Just some final configuration issues and the next entry will be from it. Right now I�m writing this in AppleWorks on Jenny�s iMac.

The ThinkPad running Win95 is unplugged and on the floor. I guess that makes it Y2K compliant.

New Zealand and Australia seem to have made it through the change over to 00 without any serious problems. I�m not surprised. I think the most serious concern at our house should be stray bullets, not loss of power.

This whole Y2K scare just annoys me. I really despise the businessmen who�ve made it a strategy to profit off of the scare. That is, I despise the mind set that would allow them to think of it:

�Hey, there�s this bug that causes SOME computer systems to think that the year is 1900. Hmmm, all the computers will still work, but the applications will think it�s 1900, well, 00 anyway.

**********************************************

Lucky you. I just accidentally deleted an entire page of satirical Y2K rant in one keystroke. Stupid iMac keyboard!

**********************************************

omit anti-Apple design rant.

**********************************************

Well, that just ruined my mood.

COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN COMPUTERS ARE FUN

I had a plan for how to spend this New Year�s eve. I wanted to go out about ten of the clock and walk the streets, eventually ending up downtown or on Michigan Ave. Just watch people and see what happens. You can ride public transportation for only a penny tonight, so we would have to risk driving.

But Jenny suggested that we stay in and watch the fall of Western Civilization on TV and go out to the beach at midnight and watch the fireworks at Navy Pier and Montrose Harbor. Sounds good to me. Warm. Relatively safe. I like it. A party might be fun, but it�d have to be with people we know, and most of them are out of town. Sooo.

Despite how I feel about Christmas and Thanksgiving, I pretty much view the rest of the so-called holidays as annoyances rather than as something to celebrate. So New Year�s eve doesn�t really mean all that much to me. Not even the �millennium� makes that much of a difference to me. Especially since THAT doesn�t happen �til next year.

I feel the same way about my birthday. Yeah, so what, it�s another day. I don�t need an excuse to party.

Rats. That earlier glitch really hosed my writing momentum.

Happy Foo Year!

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next