NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2000-02-10 - 06:52:53

Be careful what you wish for. People are always bandying that adage about, aren't they? May they live in interesting times.

Cliches, stereotypes, old adages, ancient Chinese wisdom, etc. All those hackneyed phrases. They ring true. They're pretty tiresome, but there's truth there.

Think about this though, wouldn't it be difficult to come up with a fresh way of relating this common wisdom every time you wanted to pass it on? Just try to convey the sentiment "what goes around, comes around" any more succinctly.

Be careful what you wish for. That's my new motto. I'll tell you why.

I got the new job. I wanted a challenge. Now I'm getting challenges like mad. I stayed at work last night until 7:30. Now that may not seem like a long time to you really hard workers out there, but I'm not used to that stuff. Until just last year I was an hourly worker, in a department that was looking to reduce overtime. In fact, most of my work life has been spent punching the clock. So staying late wasn't really a part of the work routine. Oh yeah, and just so you don't think I'm a wimp, I woke up yesterday at 4am.

But despite the shock of change, there was a certain amount of satisfaction in knowing that I got the job done. I can go in this morning and know that I got what needed to be done done.

Beats flippin' burgers.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next