NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2011-06-25 - 6:44 a.m.

So I joined that new free dating site OkCupid. I guess I'm ready to try to meet someone after all these years.

I hate the whole process though. If you don't have delusional amounts of self-confidence, dating sites can be challenging. Do you just ignore the other person's stated preferences if they seem appealing to you? Or do you bail when you read that they aren't into furry cosplay?

I bail. I mean, who doesn't like dressing up as giant badgers and rolling around squeaking? But I digress...

One thing that was reinforced. It's something I've noticed before. There are certain people, women, that is, whose faces I find very compelling. "Compelling" is about as close as I can get.

It's not sexual attraction, since it's really about the face. It's almost like recognition. It's so odd. I look at this woman's face and I feel a sense of warmth, familiarity, something ineffable. It affects me enough, it's affected me enough that I'm writing about it. Like I said, it's not sexual. But I find these women very attractive.

What's interesting about it, also, is that women that I find attractive enough to pursue, which is rare, I don't usually lust after. Not in a purely sexual way. For example, they're almost never someone I'd fantasize about during masturbation. Not that I don't want to have sex with them, if I'm lucky enough to actually get involved with them. It's just not primarily about sex.

I mean, I like a killer body just as much as the next guy. Though I have a wide range of what I consider physically sexy. But it's not necessarily about that.

Maybe it's that instinctual sense that we have for genetic matching. What most people think of as their "type", is really their body/mind instinctually choosing what would be the correct genetic match for reproduction. Not that I'm considering reproduction at this late date.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next