NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2004-10-21 - 6:22 a.m.

You know what I hate? I hate when things break. I can't stand it when something breaks. Say for example... oh, I don't know... MY TRUCK!

Cars and computers. Huge expense to fix. But it's not only those that bother me. Anything. The toilet. The vacuum. Those stupid torchiere lamps whose on-off switch ALWAYS wears out in about ten minutes. Anything.

I just can't stand it. It drives me crazy. I have a whole anxiety complex about it.

It drives my purchasing selections. Whenever I buy something, I look at it in terms of quality of build. Does it appear that it will last a long time without breaking.

I have an attendant anxiety: the dead-on-arrival worry. Whenever I buy something, I always try to get the one with the least damaged carton so that when I get it home it isn't broken out of the box.

I recently took possession of a computer at work which was knocked loose of its packing inside the carton. Imagine my dismay. It was unfounded though, the machine worked fine.

I even worry about my cats "breaking". That is, I worry about their health. What if one of them gets sick? What will I do? How will I take care of him? Will I have enough money at the time to take him to the vet?

What does this all mean? (He says as he slips into introspective-self-analysis mode) Something about needing continuity and stability, I guess. Fear of inadequacy?

Funny, I have this almost savant-like ability to fix things too. Not like in Slingblade, but pretty good. If it's mechanical, and I have the time, and the tools, I can usually fix it. Not always, of course, but I do okay.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next