NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2008-05-13 - 4:42 p.m.

"Amid flowers, tears, and all types of music, mourners gathered yesterday in a small Chicago college chapel to grieve the loss of a former top Toledo student murdered over the weekend.

Jenny Wanner, 26, a onetime Start High School valedictorian, was found strangled early Sunday in the hallway of her Chicago apartment building hours after she journeyed home alone from a late-night ice cream snack with friends."
- Toledo Blade, May 14, 2003

It's been five years. I wonder what Jenny would be like now. Where she'd be. Chicago? Probably. Maybe. I wonder if she'd be married. I wonder where her career would be.

A lot can happen in five years.

As for me... Nothing new. Still at the same job I was at when she died. Still living in the same apartment building.

The overt pain has passed. Now I feel melancholy when I think of Jenny. Unless I dwell on the circumstances of her death, then I'm horrified.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next