NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2006-05-03 - 7:20 p.m.

Let me give you my impressions:

The Cook County Criminal Court building is a zoo. You have to remove your belt and everything from your pockets, then walk through metal detectors to get in. It's very noisy. Children screaming, surly protestations, and loud jovial greetings.

What appalled me was the lack of respect many of the defendants and their families seemed to have. Showing up for court in t-shirts and jeans, or sports clothing. Disregard for the stated rules. And general unruliness. I guess I must be an innocent or something, but I was shocked. Not slack-jawed shocked, but shocked, and saddened. This is our society.

The courtroom itself was old, and might have been beautiful if not for the neglect. I guess since it was not a full-on trial, there was a lot of activity, lawyers, police, clerks, and sheriff's deputies coming and going all during the proceedings. The attorneys had plastic carts with loads of files on them.

I didn't know this before, but apparently in court, the state, or plaintiff has one side (the side where the jury box is), and the defendant has the other side. This tradition was lost on many in court today, as evidenced by Snoop Jack-Ass and his posse, who were seated behind me. They seemed to have missed the instructions on turning off your cell phone ringer while in court. I thought the judge was going say something to them for minute as he looked up irritably.

My respect for my friend Jim, the public defender, has jumped up a notch or ten. He has to deal with this rabble every day.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next