NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2007-09-01 - 7:25 a.m.

I want to write about how I've walked away from women I'm attracted to because they're already in a relationship. Even when I felt reciprocity. Because I respect that boundary.

I've always said I didn't want to be the other guy.

And yet, I see there's always another guy who doesn't give a shit about all that. And, apparently, the woman doesn't think less of him.

Of course then there's the thought, "If she did it to him, she'll do it to me."

Look, I'm not super jealous. I understand that relationships change. I know that love can fade. I just desire, and expect, a clean break. Before you commit to someone else emotionally, just sever yourself from me first. That's all I ask.

And what it all comes down to, for me, is the transience of love. I just don't believe that love can hold forever. Spiggott says a relationship only lasts about 2 1/2 years. After that, it's flogging a dead horse. I'd like to think that's untrue. But I don't.

But I think two people can become partners in life beyond romantic love. Or that love can evolve into something deeper. Like friendship.

But even then, can one be dispassionate enough to allow one's primary relationship to be invaded by romantic love for another? You'd have to be a saint.

I want to write about this in more depth, but it makes me tired just to think about it. And after all, for me it's just an academic exercise, isn't it?

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next