NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2006-09-29 - 6:51 a.m.

I've been having fantastic dreams lately. Vivid dreams. Scary, sexy, adventurous, and sometimes sad. You were probably in one of them.

I had dreams of places I haven't been to in years, or ever. Fantasy places. Dream apartments, and spectacular buildings. City streets, and mountain passes.

I've dreamt of old friends and new friends, lovers, and would be lovers.

I dreamt of my mother gone nearly twenty years, and worried so desperately for her care and safety, only to wake and remember duty no longer calls.

In my dreams I fought viciously and righteously. I loved passionately. I was a good friend. I was a murderous thief. I died, and I lived ever on.

I felt expansive joy in my dreams. And anguish so great I woke with tears in my eyes. Venomous rage has brought me out of slumber, beating the pillow insensate. I've awoken in the dark from cold stark fear and wondered if I'd ever sleep again.

The world of dreams is a capricious place, one moment peaceful, the next a fearful maelstrom. They say it's the place where our minds go to make sense of the real world, and that without dreams we soon go mad.

Some invest great significance in their dreams. They believe that they can foretell, or lend reason. I know they can inspire, but don't give them much credence otherwise. They are a nighttime thrill to me. Experienced, then forgotten, rarely given more than a passing thought during morning ablutions.

Sweet dreams to you, when next you sleep.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next