NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2000-01-03 - 06:34:42

This is the last week on my old job. One more week and I start my new job in the registrar's office. I'll have to wear a tie everyday. Rats! I haven't had to wear a tie everyday to work since I was a museum guard at the Adler Planetarium. (Cool ties though, maps of the constellations) Oh well, it's about time. I guess I'll even have to pop for some suits.

I'm certainly going to miss my old crew though. Actually this job has been pretty damn nice. The people are great. Well, that's an understatement. I sure will miss those Wednesday morning staff meetings. With Belgian waffles. Every Wednesday. I'll miss those lunch hours that stretched into 2 hours on a slow day, when the boss would say "let's play a game!" Charades anyone?

I won't miss some of the attitudes. Damn, how can people maintain a problem with authority attitudes deep into their 30s and beyond? A certain amount of man-hating. A certain amount of sexual harassment. And, could anyone EVER RTFM?

I won't miss surfing the web all day. You laugh. No, I'm serious. Stop it now, it's not funny! Get up off the floor and get back in your seat.

Seriously. I won't miss not having enough work to keep me busy. Or at least not enough urgency to make me keep busy.

I won't miss the grad students either. What a bunch of jerks. "Oh I couldn't be bothered to comply with University policy and local ordinance." Come to think of it, I guess that attitude is being passed down from their profs.

Note to self: Keep as far away from the faculty as possible.

So far what I've learned about academics, at least university professors, is, great people to talk to at cocktail parties. Bad people to work with if you're not doing research. Sometimes bad even if you ARE doing research. (Just ask any grad student who's had his/her research snarfed up by their advisor.)

These guys may be brilliant in their respective fields, but they don't have a lot of common sense.

For example: safety in the laboratory IS NOT an unfair burden. It's not a good idea to have your graduate students catch on fire because you can't be bothered to clean up your laboratory. (In reality, TELL someone to clean up your laboratory.)

I'm gonna stick to administration or good clean information management.

Would you stop that damn giggling! Come on now, you just shot milk through your nose all over the keyboard. That's gonna be a mess to clean up. It's not funny! Quit laughing!

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next