NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2000-01-01 - 23:26:12

Finally got the Linux box configured again. I've wiped the hard drive on my various computers so many times and re-installed, I should be able to do it in my sleep.

But, you're not supposed to do that with Linux. The rule is: don't re-install, fix. Well, I'm not that good yet. Yet. I bet by the time I'm forty I'll be that good. I got another 376 days.

So yeah, I got the Linux box up and running again. Mandrake 6.1, if you care. This is my dad's old cast off. It's about 3 years old I guess, and I like the machine itself. It's an HP Pavillion 7110Z. It was once very spiffy, one of the first consumer models to have a internal Zip drive. It's been pretty reliable, until this CD-ROM drive failure.

I was gonna just to some minor upgrades and keep this thing running, but it's starting to act flaky now. So I guess rather than minor upgrades and a Handspring Visor, I'll have to consider a new PC.

The thing is, I can't decide what to do about the new PC thing. If I could afford it, I'd be getting one of those sleek little Sony VAIO 505s and call it a day. I'd prefer to just use a notebook computer. I tried that with my ThinkPad, but I got the more affordable passive matrix screen...which basically sucks. It's usable, and if I were RMS (Richard M. Stallman, founder of the Free Software Foundation, and legendary coder/miser.) I'd probably get by with it. I could plug it into an external monitor and bypass that awful screen, but that'd defeat the point of it. Which is to take up less desktop real estate and be portable. No notebook computer for me again for a few years I guess.

I love all-in-one computers. I lust after Jenny...I mean Jenny's iMac. I want an eOne, or an NEC Ready A1000 or Z1. But since I don't run windows unless I absolutely have to, I want something sure to boot the major Linux distributions.

On the other hand, I could build my own. That way I'd have complete control over what components are put into that box. (and I could re-use this over-priced CD-ROM drive I just bought.)

I dunno. I fall for the whole POWER components trip too, but do I really need a Pentium III? I mean, why NOT a K6, or Cyrix, or a Celeron? As long as I have 128MB of RAM I should be okay. I mean, I'm not number crunching DNA code or anything. I'm reading e-mail, listening to CDs, doing some HTML and some web graphics. Hell even if I wanted to do some coding, I mean a 400 MHz ANYTHING with a bunch of RAM oughta handle it right?

A kernel compiles on my 120MHz with 48MB RAM in just a few minutes. That's probably gonna be the most intensive thing I'll have to do with my computer. Oh maybe compile some other things, but hey, I can go watch the History Channel or make out with Jenny for a while if it's going to take that long.

WWJD?

|soft etheral voice|

Have you considered the Sony PCV-L620, my son?

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next