NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2000-01-11 - 06:20:27

Well, THAT was a boring weekend.

Yesterday was first day on the job. My office is so small I can't believe it. But it has two windows and looks out at...uh, a generator? There is some green and a tree or two between the buildings. I may see a squirrel sometime. Ah, hope.

The people seem nicer than I always thought they'd be. You see, I used to work in Admissions (I say it that way for anomynity, I would normally say The Office of Undergraduate Admission.) and the Office of the Registrar was always our nemesis. Just 'cause we were bleeding edgers, and they were 1860ers. Or at least that's what we felt when we tried to foist some new technology on them. Also, they would always try to blame loss of files and stuff on us.

So I did a few minor things, tried to set up my office in a way that would work for me, etc, etc.

On another diary here, I saw a reference to Jetgirl. A cool name by the way. Jetgirl was a character in the Tankgirl comic by Jamie Hewitt, originally published in Deadline magazine out of the UK. Very cool, very strange. The movie kinda sucked though.

Too bad she hadda shut down. I wouldn't though.

If my friends reading this, and some are, or family, (hi Pop!) get their feelings hurt, tough. Too bad. Suck it up. Because this diary is about me. MY feelings, my opinions, etc. And while I won't be conciously TRYING to hurt anyone's feelings, or gossiping, or being snide, I also will be honest. Well, that's not true. There are things that I won't write about. Some things are just better off unsaid, or should be addressed off-line in real space.

I don't think I'm an evil person, or even a mean person. I don't hold grudges. I admit to having a short temper, and I CAN be a real bastard when I want to be. So? Anybody, and everybody can be like that. For example, when I was a kid, my Dad used to scare the shit outta me. He had a REALLY short temper, and would snap at you if you got in his way when he was trying to do something. I used to try to stay out of his way, and I felt scared the whole time until he was done.

Guess what? I inherited that. Just ask Jenny. But as long as I take my medicine, I'm a lot better in that regard. And my Dad mellowed with age. Now he's like a bottle of Chivas Regal.

Mmmmm Scotch!

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next