NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2004-02-27 - 4:42 p.m.

Heh. Another long silence from me. As usual.

Well, a lot has happened, relatively. So that means relative to a person with a real life, nothing much has happened.

I've been spending a lot of time (and money) learning about shooting. I finally did get that Beretta 92FS that I wanted. Ooh, it's a gnarled old hunk of metal.

I bought used, which was the plan. Unfortunately, or not, I bought the first used 92 I saw for sale. Which ended up being some cop's trade in duty gun. So, for a civilian owned gun it's pretty beat up. It's got a lot of holster wear on the finish, so it's mostly gray rather than black. One of its night sights is out, and it came with a beat up huge honkin' Pachmyr rubber grips.

Well, it's getting a makeover. I've replaced the beat up rubber grips with plastic Beretta factory grips for a more "authentic" look. Soon I'll be replacing the chewed up grip screws with fancy hex head ones. I'll get the sights fixed, and I'm thinking about getting it re-finished.

All that for an old duty gun? Yup. 12 years old and hardly been shot. It's worth it.

The cool thing is, I'm a lot more confident now than I was. I'm even a pretty decent shot for someone who's shot less than 500 rounds in his life. (I knew I would be though. Good eye/hand.)

*******************

Now for the bad stuff.

I quit taking my antidepressants around the first of the year. Now I really feel it. Thinking about Jenny a lot. Feeling that familiar lost feeling too. A slightly hollow feeling.

But, I'm doing okay. I mean, really okay. Except for the not feeling okay part.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next