NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2000-02-04 - 06:45:52

Part of my new job is sitting in on interviews for other members of the "professional" staff. Which would be fine, I guess, If I hadn't just started the job.

We're hiring a new Assoc Registrar. That position is higher than mine, but I still get to interview the candidates. In fact the whole office gets to interview the candidates. But the "professional" staff has a separate interview. We also take the candidate out to lunch, etc. It's all very democratic.

Something I'll have to grow into, I think.

We had three candidates. One from a nearby university. One from a university far away, and one from within our own university.

I felt so odd about interviewing these people. I mean this is their career. And I'm so new in my job. I mean, I'm not really sure what it is exactly that we do in our office. That sounds odd doesn't it? But it's true. I know how to get the computers configured and up and running. I know how to make sure the network is okay, and how to connect everything up to it. I know how to troubleshoot Windows when it starts crashing and freezing. But I don't know what all my co-workers are doing.

I mean, I used to work in records for the admissions office, so I have an understanding of that part. Some of that record carries over to my office, but what happens afterward, hm, I dunno.

Anyway, I liked the candidate from within our own university.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next