NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2000-02-02 - 05:57:48

Of course I knew this would be a problem. You see, I'm not much of a writer. Don't like it much, frankly. Never thought I was any good at it. Still don't.

Though I must confess to a fair amount of "journal"ing. More than my parents. In fact the first time I heard of anyone keeping a journal outside of the "ship's log" on Star Trek was in college. None of my friends in high school kept a journal. That I'm aware of. It seems like a pretty white-middle-class-teen-aged-girl kind of thing. Guess that's how I got exposed to it.

Oh I know, lots of men have kept journals, diaries. Of course all of them were famous. Funny that most famous people seem to have a diary or a journal. Why is that? Or is it that more people in general keep journals than I thought. Could it be that some set of psychological traits that makes for famous people also encourages journaling?

Maybe introspection and working ideas out in black and white on (a computer screen) helps to strengthen one thinking and purpose. Well, it hasn't helped me out.

Anyway, I don't think I have much to say. I just find it difficult to remark on my own life as it's happening. Oh, I can bore you to death with my tales of old. Believe me, just ask Jenny. But the thing is, I just don't feel like I have much to say. It's not like my life is boring. I like it just fine. Especially these days. Particularly these days. But what to say about it?

"Today was great. I woke up to a warm, comfortable home. I have plenty of coffee and food. I have nice, comfortable clothes to wear to my job. I have a job in the field I want to work in, in a place that's a good place to work at. I have a loving girlfriend and lots of good friends."

I don't think so. Except maybe as a juxtoposition of how my life has been in the past.

(Satchmo impersonation)

I see skies of blue and clouds of white

The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night

And I think to myself, what a wonderful world

(end Satchmo impersonation)

"Satchmo" is short for "Satchel Mouth"

Ain't it a shame that that Louis Armstrong song got played so much that it's become platitudinous?

Goodbye.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next