NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2000-01-22 - 06:17:02

I've been working at Prestigious Private Mid-Western University for over six years now, and the one thing that really bothers me is the attitude of the kids.

These kids are the cream of the crop. The top of their class. The best and the brightest. I know. I worked in admission for five years.

The first thing is, they never read anything. Well, I guess they must, elsewise theyd'nt pass their classes. But anything not directly class related, they couldn't be bothered. When I was in admission, they'd call up to ask a question that was printed on the application form they were looking at.

Oh hell, I guess it must just be a small percentage, and it seems magnified since it causes me and my ilk more work so we notice it. But you would think, if these guys are so damn smart, how come they can't follow instructions?

Did you ever have a teacher give that test where the first instruction is to read all the instructions, and the last instruction is just to write your name on the top of the sheet and leave it at that? Yeah, I fell for it too. Answered all the questions thinking "Jeez, these are some ODD questions.". Then get done and the teacher tells everyone to read the last instruction. There was always one or two smug motherfuckers that read all the instructions. They're the ones I always supposed would get into PPMU.

Come to think of it, those guys are probably the ones that went on to MIT.

I gotta tell ya, PPMU really CARES about "activities" in admission. They want "leaders". I think they're talking about the kind of kids Dylan Klebold and Eric Harris were trying to off.

It's not enough to have the one of the highest GPAs in your class, but you damn well better have volunteered to go to India to help the lepers during your junior summer. You better have been the class president, treasurer of the yearbook committee, had a part-time job, tutored poor kids, been a member of the glee club, chorus, debate society, helping your poor, sick grandmother bake cookies to benefit the homeless, ran track, collected pennies for Muscular Dystrophy, and had a serious 3 year relationship with someone of the opposite sex. Ya frickin' over-acheiver!

All that and a rich daddy'll get you in.

Don't get me wrong. There's lot's of down-to-earth kids there too. Take Jenny for example, my own true love. Or Jason at my new job. Both graduates of PPMU. 'Course I met a lot of kids who were great. But they were work study employees.

The great thing about PPMU is that really, anyone can go there. As long as they're hyper-smart, and really rich, really poor, or willing to take out loans that would send small nations into debt.

Of course you realize that for the most part the only kids in this country who get a decent education are the ones who live in relatively affluent places. So the majority of kids at PPMU are rather priviledged brats who went to prep schools in Connecticut.

They treat the staff like "the help", the ungrateful whelps.

I'll admit to sudden mis-filings, and dramatic work stoppages with regard to needs of kids who dis me. Well guess what little miss snotty? Suddenly my computer needs a reboot.

I'm sorry Brad, if you couldn't be bawwthered to collect the needed signatures to do this, I guess I can't be "bawwthered" to reply to your email. Fuckya!

But I'll bend over backwards to help the polite kid who's got a problem that he or she didn't cause by procrastinating, not reading the instructions or just plain figuring someone else'd do it FOR them. You bet. I'd bust my hump for decent kid.

Because ultimately, despite my background, and my struggle with class consciousness, I believe in PPMU. I'm proud to be associated with PPMU. And to tell you the truth, PPMU ain't been nothing but good to me.

Go you animal-named athletic team!

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next