NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2001-07-25 - 11:19 p.m.

Today my landlady called me at work to complain that my air conditioner is installed unsafely and is dripping excessively, and that it drips on people as they try to go into the laundry room.

Crap.

Excuse me? But I'll bet my air conditioners are the best installed in the whole damn building. There're no pieces of cardboard filling the gaps between where the "slidey things" end and the edge of the window. My air conditioners aren't tilting haphazardly, propped up on bricks or cookie tins or what have you.

As for the people getting dripped on? Fock yew! What a bunch of whining wussies.

"Ewwwww. Water dripped on me. Ewwwww."

Do you collect paperclips too? Fuckers.

Dang. So I came home pissed, poor Jenny (sorry), and spent most of the evening trying to rig the thing so it looked more secure. (?) I mean, you'd have to seriously run at the thing to dislodge it. But I dutifully installed some support bolts. Wedged a brick under it and rigged a plastic pan with a hose under the back of it.

She'll probably call tomorrow saying it's an eyesore.

There's really no other place to put the dumb thing. We've got a bedroom (with an AC in the only window), a bathroom (uh, AC and showers don't mix), kitchen, and balcony. I'm not gonna put the air conditioner in one of the balcony windows, since then we'd be blowing hot air out onto our balcony, which sorta defeats the purpose of having it, and living here in the first place.

The phone technician told me I was going to have problems with my landlady. I thought he was just a disgruntled phone guy. He might be right though.

p.s. If you care. This entry, written and posted entirely without the aid of Microsoft. Linux-Mandrake 8.0, KDE-Advanced Editor, KWord, and Konquerer browser, when I learned that I couldn't paste into the Linux version of Netscape. Woo. Hoo.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next