NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2005-06-19 - 10:22 a.m.

I used to be pretty fearful about writing. I skipped so much school as a kid, that I missed all the English classes where they teach you the basics of writing. I never got practice writing. And I never learned grammar. Though two years of high school Spanish taught me more about English grammar than 12 years of reg'lar schoolin'.

But using computers, especially to interact with other people via BBS systems, USENet, and web forums really pushed my writing skills. Between computer use, and my jobs at the University, I've had to write more and more. Fortunately, with access to some smart colleagues, various reference materials, and repression of my ego, I've been able to make progress and gain confidence in my writing skills.

Of course I'll never be as good a writer as someone who's actually studied English and systematically focused on writing and story-telling. But I do well enough. I guess.

My business writing has a tendency to be stilted, and my personal writing is perhaps way too colloquial. But at least I'm confident enough to try.

Ultimately, though, I credit the computer use for most of my progress, and for finding a voice, of sorts.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next