NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2007-06-02 - 8:38 a.m.

I wonder if other people feel like this: I feel like I can do anything. Or at least learn to do anything, given sufficient motivation and interest. And time, I guess.

This thought comes to me after some serious time put in learning more Linux stuff. Things that were previously quite daunting turned out to be not so difficult.

I guess it seems like a pretty dumb revelation to more accomplished people. But it is sort of a revelation to me.

I'm what you might call "a lifelong learner", what continuing education people are always crowing about. 'Course none of it is structured learning. Mostly I learn new things in response to a problem. So, I have an issue I need to resolve, and I research how to solve the issue, and viola! I've learned something new.

But I'm a very practical, pragmatic person. So I'm not likely to want to learn something that doesn't do something. I find philosophy tedious, boring, and pointless. I want action. I'm pretty much only interested in learning new things for practical application.

I can't stand dithering either. Yes, some forethought is required before embarking on some action. But I'm willing to accept the consequences should I fail in some endeavor, change tactics, and try again until I succeed.

I consider sitting around weighing the pros and cons endlessly a complete waste of time. On the other hand, I understand that should the course be ill-considered, that starting over, or making corrections would also waste time. But, better to move ahead and make some kind of progress rather than sit deadlocked with fear of moving foreward. So, yeah, impulsive a little.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next