NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2003-03-01 - 2:47 a.m.

Well. it's been 14 months since I went back to the Mac.

I never did install Linux on my iBook. And I really only use the terminal for tweaking and things like learning Perl. Using vi to write html.

vi is so darn difficult to force myself to learn when most of my time using computer since 1991, I've used GUI word processors of various stripes. I guess I'd have to stranded on an island with no 'net connection and vi as my only editor to force myself to learn it well. Hell, I didn't even know about vi for the first fours years I had regular access to computers. I didn't have access to a *nix box to play with until I'd used DOS for a couple years, then Mac OS, for a couple more, and Windows all through that.

That's what I get for not being a computer science major. Or any science, for that matter. Damn the Chicago Public Schools.

But back to the Mac. I have to say that OS X is the single most elegant and functional (now) operating system I've ever used. Not that there is, just that I've ever used. What a brilliant hybrid of easy to use GUI and hardcore *nix. It's no wonder Uber Geeks everywhere are flocking to it in droves. (Isn't that a mixed metaphor?)

I love my iBook, though I'm not crazy about it being white. It's still very nicely designed and it is the nicest computer I've ever had, but white just doesn't do it for me. It's way better than the old toilet seat iBooks though. If they'd kept that design, I wouldn't have an iBook. It was just too fluffy looking. I really liked the orignial iMac though. Not so much the fruit colors. Bondi blue was nice. Really nice. I'm kinda sorry they didn't keep that design longer. I woulda went for that instead of the iceBook.

Yay Apple!

goodbye.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next