NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2006-03-04 - 5:37 p.m.

Bleah. That's my mood. Nothing dramatic, just bleah.

On a brighter note, my tattoo is finally healing. Whew. That was the most traumatic two weeks I've had in a while. I'm such a wimp.

In my own defense, I have to say the stakes were high. Here's something that marks you for life, regardless. Even if you get it "removed" you still have a mark of some kind.

I was most afraid of having a "red ink reaction". This is when your body decides that the tattoo ink is a toxic foreign substance THAT MUST BE ELIMINATED. It's not limited to red ink, but that's the color that it happens with most frequently. The reactions are varied, from anaphylactic shock to just taking longer to heal, and apparently everything in between. The consequences can be as extreme as death, in the case of anaphylactic shock, to nasty scarring or loss of the ink in the tattoo.

My second concern was just healing the tattoo properly so as to properly set the ink and have it come out clear and vivid.

This is my first tattoo, so I was unprepared for the pain after the tattoo. I expected it to be painful during the actual tattooing, but I wasn't at all prepared for the swelling and intense pain for the next week afterward.

Now I know. And I'll be thinking very carefully before getting another one. Though I'm pretty sure I will be.

If you decide to get tattooed, I suggest you consider very carefully before you proceed. And if you're prone to allergies, especially seafood or somehow know you're allergic to mercury in a life-threatening way, think even more carefully. Especially if your design involves red ink.

Despite my experience, I'm glad I was tattooed. It was an interesting experience and I like my tattoo very much.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next