NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2006-03-08 - 7:41 a.m.

It's an awful feeling of powerlessness when your friends are in unhappy situations and there's not much you can do for them but offer your sympathy. I'm sure everyone feels that way at one time or another.

You wish you could do more than commiserate. You wish you could snap your fingers, or wave a magic wand, and change their situation for the better.

I have a couple of friends who I feel that way about. I can't stop thinking about them, and wishing I could help them. And it makes me feel miserable. I love them so much that it hurts me to know that they're suffering.

Having been on the other side of that, you don't really think about how your friend feels, you're too intent on your own pain. But now that I think about it, I could hear it in their voices.

It makes me think that sometimes I should keep my big yap shut about my own problems and suck it up, and listen.

What a terrible thing it is when we share our burdens with our friends. What terrible beauty is friendship.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next