NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2006-07-11 - 3:30 p.m.

Every time I read the "Who I want" description on dating sites or in personal ads I just shut down. I don't even want to pursue the issue.

Sometimes I feel like the women writing these ads have unrealistic expectations. Or they're shooting for their "perfect" man.

There's also a hell of a lot of anger. Yeah, 'cause that's gonna weed out the jerks and only the good guys will contact ya.

A lot of 'em feel like they're shopping for a sugar daddy too.

It's so hard to meet women. Bars are absolutely out of the question. And it's tough and/or weird to meet people where you work. Unless you work with the public.

On top of all that, I have this ambivalence about relationships. I mean, I would like to be in a relationship, but with relationships comes... relationship stuff. Some of which is nice, granted, but, depending on the other person, some of it can be very trying.

It takes a lot to provoke me to even try. I don't just hit on every woman I see, like some guys I know. It takes a pretty special woman to make me overcome my shyness and reticence to express my admiration.

'Course maybe it's good to work that way. The last woman that struck me like that was a real sweetheart. Too bad she was already involved (Darn you guitar girl!).

Meh.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next