NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2006-07-13 - 1:24 p.m.

Books I took out of the library last night:

Joseph Cornell: Shadowplay...Eterniday
by Lynda Roscoe Hartigan, et al
ISBN: 0500976287

The Cornell boxes, I've seen them at the Art Institute. I admit I wasn't a fan until after reading Mona Lisa Overdrive. I'd seen them, and even looked at them pretty closely. I've even seen some in a private collection. But Gibson infused them with romance. Then once you hear a little bit about Cornell, he, and they, become much more interesting.

Miniature Rooms : The Thorne Rooms at the Art Institute of Chicago
by Bruce Hatton Boyer
ISBN: 0865592128

I've been fascinated with the Thorne Rooms since I was a child. They're so... intricate, detailed, beautiful, little.

War Stories
by Joe Haldeman
ISBN: 1597800228

Haldeman's one of my favorite science fiction authors. And having read a lot of literature about Viet Nam, growing up during the war, this is a natural.

Ghost
by John Ringo
ISBN: 1416509054

Ringo's book covers have stopped me from taking his books out. They're always so cheesy and garish. He writes "military science fiction". Oy. But it's entertaining if you like that sort of thing.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next