NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2000-01-29 - 22:44:08

Have you tried Tang lately?

Man, in 1969 I was 8 years old. It was the Space Age as far as I knew. Yeah, there were some odd people around with long hair, and ... they were weird and all, but ASTRONAUTS? Oh man, space. Men in space. Space walking, tang drinking, Space Food Stick eating Astro-fucking-nauts! Houston-we-have-a-problem, roger, roger, light 'er up!

2001 A Space Odyssey, isn't that the most beautiful movie ever? Man, the longest IBM commercial ever! So cool. That whole space race, astronauts, moonshots, recoveries in the oceans, that was the highlight of my young life. I saw a man land on the moon. On TV.

I Dream of Jeanie.

Cosmonauts on Gilligan's Island.

G.I. Joe in a frickin' space suit, WITH a frickin space capsule!

Major Matt Mason.

*******************************

I went to the Kennedy Space Center. Pretty corny.

I got choked up.

*******************************

Disney World was another one.

I broke down in the middle of Main St. I-WAS-Ben-Stiller-in-Something-About-Mary-as-he-walks-away-crying-at-the-end. The mouse police hadda drag me outta there physically. I was a quivering mass of frenzied comsummerism drowning in saccharine nostalgia. In hot weather gear.

*******************************

I get so emotional.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next