NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2000-01-28 - 16:41:17

Got a new rig. Yeah.

Regretting it already. Isn't that always the way when you get a new computer?

Okay, I got the eMachines eOne. Why? (You may ask)

All-in-one. I've loved it since my first mac LC575, and I'll love it 'til I drop. I like laptops for the very same reason. I want the whole machine in one box. Don't know why I like it that way so much, but I do.

One could argue, and many do, that it makes more sense to get electronics in separate components whenever possible. I like 'em all in one. Stereos, computers, cars, especially stereos.

The argument goes that if one part of the machine goes out, you don't have to ship the whole kit and kaboodle out for repair. Whatever. You still can't use it while it's being repaired usually anyway.

Anyway, the selling point for me was that the machine has a bunch of ways in, as I call it. It's got a parallel port, midi-game port, serial port, modem, ethernet, 2 USB ports, video in, audio in, speaker out, headphone out, CD ROM drive & floppy. Oh yeah, and two PCMCIA slots!

So though it's all in one, it's pretty damn expandable. But cheap. The mouse was an instant write off. I've never got a mouse as useless as the one that came with this machine. Oh well, I'll get one of them fancy new MS optical mice.

I'm worried though. Linux doesn't like these all in one motherboards with audio, modem, ethernet, etc. all on the board. Be sure doesn't. BeOS does boot, but in 8bit color which makes it not worth running. Maybe the new free version of BE will run okay.

I guess I'll have to run Mandrake 4windows. Mandrake Linux on top of windows. That'll probably work. I hope.

Did I mention that the monitor screen is only adjustable in software?

I'd better check my receipt to see what the return policy is.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next