NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2000-01-14 - 16:41:42

Shhh! I'm at work. Last half-hour of my first week on the new job. It's okay. People are nicer than I expected. But a lot of the work is still that frustrating kind of thing where the people really don't know how to use their computers, and they call it a "computer problem". Things were set up here by...no, amateurs care too much to do things this way, by people who didn't know what the hell they were doing.

You can hear the place winding down. The frantic crowds of procrastinators is gone from the front desk. People are shutting things down, putting stuff away. The banter has quieted.

I think I'm going to have to come in for a few hours over the weekend. Sunday I guess. I have to get some information from each computer, but it's hard to accquire when people are sitting in front of the machine. So I'll come in when there's noone here and it'll go fast, I hope.

I might have a gig on Saturday. Someone e-mailed a mailing list I'm on about needing someone to set up a Mac. They're paying $40-50 an hour. Hey, I need some pocket money. The guy hasn't called so probably it won't happen. But if it does, I'll probably have to spend the money on clothes. I NEED MORE TIES! (God, I never thought I'd say something like THAT.)

coo coo catchoo!

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next