NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2005-10-02 - 1:12 p.m.

12.3 years. That's how long I've been at the University. Longest job ever. Best pay ever. Best job/s ever.

I've probably said this before here, but if you come from a background like mine, getting a job at a university is probably the best move you'll ever make. A background like mine is basically white trash. Working class, probably some domestic issues during childhood, not enough education, at least no sheepskin.

I'm pretty sure any college or university will do. But you'll probably do better at a private university.

The pay isn't so hot, but the benefits are great. Working conditions are considerably more humane than business or private industry. If you don't mind working with odd people. Lotta weirdos working in higher education. Usually smart people, but a lot of strange. I count myself right in there, though, so don't think I'm being overly critical.

Anyway, good opportunities. Easy, affordable access to correcting that lack of sheepskin problem. Room to move. Access to technology.

Beats flippin' burgers.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next