NOW
PAST
MAIL
DIARYLAND
HOME

2003-07-21 - 4:24 p.m.

Been in the woods for the last week. Up in the UP in Michigan. It was...not as primitive as I had expected. But it was okay.

I slept in the bed of my pickup for the whole time. A cozy nest of sleeping pad, bag, and comforter. It was better than my bed at home.

We drank and smoked a lot. Too much, I guess, since I slept so much. Drinking's not as pleasurable as it once was. It just makes me tired. Feh. Time to quit.

I didn't think about Jenny much until the drive home. I found myself thinking of her, and Binny and Noodle, and I cried as I drove. I had to stop myself so I could drive. But when I got home after Binny & Noodle greeted me, I broke down hard. It's like the grief was bottled up the whole time.

I suppose the grief was bottled up since I hardly knew most of the people I was with. When I was drunk and did talk about it, people didn't seem to be able to deal with it. So I dropped it. And felt embarassed.

***************

So, how do you like them apples?

previous - next